Betfair = rigged!

Alright, not rigged, no, but I did just take one right between the eyes from the poker gods, and for a few seconds I felt a tiny bit tin-foil hattish. It was only a two-outer, but it was more about the timing; heads-up for the money in a $5.50 MTT, stacks almost even, and me with a great read on my opponent. I’d just got myself level with her, and was feeling pretty smug about myself and my chances, when this happened –

***** Betfair Poker Hand History for Game 307843262 *****
NL Texas Hold’em $5 Buy-in + $0.50 Entry Fee, Level:14 Blinds(1,500/3,000-150 ante) – Friday, February 01, 00:54:31 GMT 2008
$500 GTD Regular $5+$0.50 NLH #124874
Table 1 9-max (Real Money)
Seat 2 is the button
Total number of active players : 2
Seat 2: manos33 ( 91,106.50 )
Seat 7: dermoth ( 86,893.50 )
Tourney Level:14 Blinds(1,500/3,000-150 ante)
manos33 posts ante [150]
dermoth posts ante [150]
manos33 posts small blind [1,500]
dermoth posts big blind [3,000]
** Dealing down cards **
Dealt to dermoth [ 2c, 2d ]
manos33 raises to [6,000]
dermoth calls [3,000]
** Dealing Flop ** [ Qc, 2s, 5s ]
dermoth checks
manos33 bets [8,000]
dermoth calls [8,000]
** Dealing Turn ** [ 3d ]
dermoth checks
manos33 goes all-in
manos33 bets [76,956.50]
dermoth calls [72,743.50]
dermoth goes all-in
Returning uncalled bet [4,213] to manos33
** Showdown **
manos33 shows [ 3h, 3c ]
dermoth shows [ 2c, 2d ]
** Dealing River ** [ Th ]
** Hand Conclusion **
manos33 wins 173,787 from main pot with three of a kind, Threes
************ Game 307843262 ends ************
I was so incensed, I opened Betfair Poker Buddy to get the hand history. As if the beat wasn’t painful enough.

I was behind to start, of course, and maybe I should have raised it preflop, but in that spot, with my perceived skill edge, I’m keeping the pot small until I can see the flop and hopefully work out where I stand. I still like the smooth call on the flop, and I’m happy to pay off A4 or a flopped set on the turn. I am not happy to pay off a turned set, obv.

Still, it’s not all doom; I picked up $100 for second, which nudged January’s results from “fairly poor” towards “almost acceptable”. Bills paid, and the Betfair results from the end of the month have given my asthmatic bankroll a little more breathing room. And the signs indicate February will be better; I’m crushing these Betfair tourneys at the minute,  and now have enough in my BF account to allow some $11 excursions.

(Aside – I’m a bit weird with my bankroll; I treat money in separate accounts as separate bankrolls, which is really, really stupid, but I can’t seem to kick the habit. This is exacerbated with Betfair, which I view as a betting site, not a poker site, so it’s even harder for me to manage that part of my bankroll sensibly. Still, I’ve quadrupled my Betfair account in the space of four days,, so I’m not complaining too much. But as usual, 95% of my bankroll is lying dormant at other sites (well, Stars is still being used occasionally) while I struggle along with the pittance I have in the site du jour. It’s so incredibly stupid, but will I change? Probably not).

So, February is going to be all about Betfair, it seems. If the $11 games are half as fishy as the $5s, it should be fun…

  1. I have over 100 games listed in befair poker buddy
    and each and every 1 of them has a massive bias to low range cards
    cards below an 8 are in the region of 70%
    hole cards where both are below an 8 in comparison to hole cards above an 8 are in a ratio af 4-1
    i have been seeded on this site and my cards are deliberately generated to be low range
    this is no lie
    i can send anyone my stats if they wish to view

    betfair is rigged
    this is why they register in malta and not 1 of many UK tax havens
    the reason being that they have no accountability to UK gambling laws

      • Mark
      • November 16th, 2009

      Hi, I woud completely agree that Betfair is rigged! They only let you get so far andthen bang!! no matte what hand you are holding. I would love for Betfair to be investigated. I had a pretty aggressive email off Betfair when enquiring about the authenticity of their Poker site. Enough said!!

  2. I am looking for any person legal or otherwise who wishes to have betfair poker investigated
    please reply

    • dermoth
    • June 9th, 2009

    My views on the subject of massive companies deliberately cheating their customers are mentioned elsewhere on this site – have a read, it will be of interest to you – https://pokermoth.wordpress.com/2008/01/13/why-the-absolute-poker-scandal-is-good-for-online-poker/.

    You say you’ve noticed something fishy going on, and maybe you have. If there actually IS something fishy going on, other people will have noticed it too, just as they did at Absolute. (Remember, the Absolute scandal was just one player, not an entire dodgy site, and the other players rumbled it within *days*).

    My opinion is that Betfair (and every other poker site) are as aware of the above as I am, and would far rather make huge amounts of money legally with no risk than make slightly more money through RNG fiddling, at the risk of completely destroying their reputation. There’s just no need for it.

    I’m not saying you’re wrong, just that I’d be incredibly surprised if you were right.

    Hope your luck improves!

    • ChinoRigged
    • August 9th, 2009

    it’s rigged,full stop.

    • ChinoRigged
    • August 9th, 2009

    for example, played 2 satellites in a row and get dealt kk,get called twice with a 10 and flop another k and they go onto fill straights,dominate another guy in a satellite,who calls me with a k 6 suited and he hits nothing on flop,my qs are leading so next 2 cards come up 6 6.this is the usual stuff on this site,get bored of it.

    • harry
    • September 23rd, 2009

    After playing Betfair Poker for the past week ( only small stakes ) I am convinced the site IS RIGGED. There are just too many strong hands and the number of hands that are split is unbelivable. Beware Betfair Poker!!

    • Bentfair
    • November 22nd, 2009

    Betfair is 100% rigged.

    My advice to players of all levels.

    Register as new player and play as loose as possible, you will win with almost any hand (within reason). You will win quite significantly at first. As soon as the badbeats start to become a little fishy, withdraw your money and dont play again, believe me its all downhill from there!!

  3. i am still suffering at the hands of betfair
    too many games to list from poker buddy
    they would take days to download
    but seriously
    if any one is interested in having betfair investigated then please reply to my post or my e-mail if it is publised
    e-mail
    jwjmt1983@hotmail.co.uk

  4. Betfair Poker is totally bent,fact,it doesnt matter what your skill level,you will not win money over a period of time.
    The software seems similar to Full tilt,it allows you to win for the first few weeks,then you will be hit by badbeat after badbeat,some of which are absolutely unreal.
    The number of times i have had aces and come up against someone playing 2 cards off suit,only to hit 4 cards of the same suit and hit a flush,or get done by runner runner and they hit trips.
    Time after time,the same beats get you,and you cant do anything about it because your already all in.
    Then theres the impossible calls,on one occasion i go 70k all in with kk,i get called with 2/5 offsuit,he hits the flush.
    Another time the player after the big blind goes 40k all in before the flop with q8,he gets called with aj and kk,q8 wins,unreal.
    If your on the shortstack,you know you going out,it doesnt matter if you have AA,the system will find a way to put you out.
    Its hard to believe software thats meant to be random can play so badly,so if its not the software,then its someone on the inside.
    Anyone can use botware on fulltilt,so if outsiders can use it,what if someone on the inside has superior botware,it does work,i know someone thats tried and tested it,is works particularly well against the doughnuts in the low stake buy in tournies,ie $5/$10.
    I cannot believe that online poker will ever be well enough regulated to be able to play an honest game.
    Avoid it at all costs,its a massive scam.

    • asdasdadasdasd
    • October 9th, 2010

    guys the site is RIGGED !!!
    experiencing 10 stack swings all the time (on showdown)
    either +10 or -10. Thats is NOT a normal variance!

    The first hand preflop is very often a monster against a monster encouraging the people to get stacked (KK vs AQ, AK vs AJ, etc..)

    • chris
    • December 16th, 2010

    I don’t agree that Betfair is rigged, I just started playing there since 2 weeks ago and so far Im winning more than my fair share, infact this is the best site I ever played! it really seems that it is fair play on betfair, the cards are coming naturally, and no stinking bad beats each and every hand like on other sites, no names mentioned, I have been playing online poker for over 15 years and I DO! think and know! that most sites are rigged, but so far Betfair seems to be honest and I am switching to this site from Pokerstars real soon, Betfair is also listed on the stockmarket wich makes my trust for the site even better.

    • Tom
    • January 6th, 2012

    I would consider myself a fairly decent poker player, having played for years both online and off but I have to agree, there is something VERY suspect about Betfair poker.

    I have gone ‘all-in’ on a flush Ace high only to be beaten by someone chancing their luck with a suited ten card and by the river, they have won with a straight flush. I have also at times been met with a player who only had a 5 unsuited and me with AA yet that player came up with 4 x 5’s. This has happened time and time again. Always seems to happen when playing in high stakes poker. Strange how these sequences NEVER occur in real time poker.

    I have also found that, if one plays the ‘free’ tournies then the cards seem to be fairly stacked but as soon as ‘real’ money is involved, Betfair Poker deals some strange hands.

    I have played on most of the big poker sites and have NEVER had this problem, I can’t understand why Betfair Poker appear to be rigged when the other sites have fair hands. Maybe Betfair want us to deposit more cash?

    A mystery for sure but one thing I know, I won’t be playing on Betfair Poker again, in my opinion they are totally rigged.

    • dave greasley
    • February 11th, 2012

    The biggest hand I get on Betfair most frequently is kings and I cant remember the last time I had them where an ace didn’t flop and I’m talking about a very high ratio and I’ve moved to another site and de ja vouz seems to be setting in already cos I’ve had kings twice and ace has flopped both times. Also on Betfair I’ve noticed there seems to be a pattern – after I take cash out they bleed the remaining balance in my account with bad beat after bad beat, rivered – rivered – rivered – rivered -rivered. This happens without fail after every cashout – coincidence?

    • a meehan
    • February 8th, 2013

    I stopped paying money to betfair some time ago as I could not win . So I have been playing their freerolls – but even these are rigged. The way they do it is by creating ghost players – at present they seem to be using bf numbers – ie a player will have an alias of say — bf123456 –,They then have several of these bf numbers in any one tourney – I have counted up to 27 bf numbers in one tourny . I was recently playing in one game against 6 bf numbers (out of 10) . Inevetably I loose – when I finally go to to look at the final tourney winner – it turns out to be one of these bf numbered players .Incidentally – I have also checked out their money game players and there is NOT ONE bf numbered player which indicates to me they have a rolling ghost player name for these events. I have written to betfair asking about rigging ( suggesting an external syndicate ) and am awaing a reply.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment